Strong Defense Against Theft Crimes Charges
Because a theft charge will go on your record, potentially limiting your ability to get a job, rent an apartment and attend the school of your choice, it’s important that you hire an attorney versus pleading guilty. There are defenses for theft crimes, and a lawyer with knowledge of this area of law will work to build a case for you.
The penalties associated with a theft charge vary depending on the level of the crime. Theft crimes are categorized as follows:
- Second-degree crime — Theft of property valued at $75,000 or more, or property taken by extortion. A second-degree charge in New Jersey is punishable by five to 10 years in prison and a $150,000 fine.
- Third-degree crime — Theft of property that exceeds $500 but is less than $75,000. A third-degree charge is punishable by three to five years in prison and a $15,000 fine.
- Fourth-degree crime — Theft of property with a value that exceeds $200 and less than $500. A fourth-degree crime is punishable by up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
The consequences of your legal matter can be severe and lasting, that’s why it’s so important that you have an experienced attorney on your side who will protect your interests and defend your rights. Since 2004 I have been assisting New Jersey individuals and families by working to achieve the best results possible in each case I handle.
Contact a defense attorney in Lakeland, FL today to discuss your options.